Every state has its own set of laws that govern car insurance premiums and limits. Some states are no-fault based, but Alabama is a fault-based state, which means that anyone who gets involved in an accident can make a claim with the other person’s auto insurance company.
It also provides drivers various options for filing a car insurance claim. In addition to filing a claim against the other person’s insurance, you can also file a claim with your insurance, allowing you to maximize your chances of finding recovery.
Here are the minimum required auto insurance coverage limits:
- Bodily Injury: $25, 000 per person/$50, 000 per accident
- Property Damage: $25, 000 per person
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25, 000 per person/ $50, 000 per accident
What Is Liability Insurance?
Note that liability insurance is only to cover the costs of repairing the vehicle—and not recovery for medical bills. This is a separate type of insurance and can usually be added on as an option.
Here are the several types of auto coverage:
- Collision: Covers accident-related damage to your vehicle.
- Comprehensive: Covers damage due to natural disaster and occurrences out of your control.
- Medical and Funeral: Covers medical and funeral costs after an accident.
- Uninsured Motorists: Offers protection when other drivers do not carry insurance.
Alabama has one of the highest rates of uninsured motorists on the road. Drivers who are caught without insurance can be sanctioned and subject to criminal penalties.
Talk to Our Seasoned Lawyers
At Fischer & Associates, LLC Attorneys At Law, we have immense experience dealing with insurance companies. We know the various tactics they use to diminish liability and deny claims, and we know the ways to work around that. Because we have managed to obtain millions of dollars in settlements for our clients in the past because we are sharp, creative, and determined in our efforts to win for you.
If you were in a car accident and you require assistance with your insurance claim, give us a call at (866) 262-2232 as soon as possible.